Rembrandt, all too human

 
 Alma Kuzma

Jan Lievens

Portrait of Rembrandt, c. 1630

This young man, fixing us with his attentive gaze, is almost certainly Rembrandt, depicted at an early age, but recognisable by his rusty curls.

The young artist is dressed in fantasy costume dress, wearing a cap and gorget. He has a light scarf around his neck. This portrait was painted by Rembrandt’s colleague and friend Jan Lievens.

The artist applied Rembrandt’s style, using dark colour and a highly distinctive chiaroscuro. Lievens scratched the subject’s curls into the paint, just as Rembrandt had in his self-portrait dating from 1628

 Rijksmuseum
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • comment sauver son couple  On 02/28/2012 at 09:33

    I regard something genuinely special in this website.

  • recuperer son ex  On 03/01/2012 at 09:20

    I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to reach my goals. I absolutely love reading everything that is posted on your blog.Keep the information coming. I loved it!

  • comment recuperer son ex  On 03/01/2012 at 09:41

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a weblog web site? The account helped me a applicable deal. I were tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered bright transparent idea.

  • Credit Keeper  On 03/18/2012 at 01:12

    Great article! I loved the knowledge and the advice given . Plus, your writing style is very fun to read. If you have enough time please take a look at my brand new webpage and let me know what you think.

Trackbacks

  • By 看电影 on 03/15/2012 at 03:58

    […] unique graphics …Rembrandt on a Bicycle | mis·trans·la·tionRembrandt van Rijn | Unique StoriesRembrandt, all too human « random acts of art首页 | 登陆 | 联系 | 标签 | 链接Copyright © 2012 看电影. All Rights […]

  • […] Rembrandt, all too human(artrazor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

